GALVESTON, TX – January 13, 2021 – The Galveston Regional Chamber of Commerce announced Senator Larry Taylor as the 2020 recipient of the “Nonno” Tony Smecca Galvestonian of the Year. The Galvestonian of the Year award is presented to an individual who has positively contributed to the betterment of the Galveston region business community.  

The award, named after iconic
island businessman and community supporter, “Nonno” Tony Smecca, will
officially be presented at the 176th Annual Meeting on Friday,
February 26, 2021 from 6:30 pm – 10:00 pm at the Galveston Island Convention
Center in Galveston, Texas.

Senator Larry Taylor is a lifelong Texan and Baylor University
graduate raised in Friendswood. He and his wife Kerri have three adult children
and three grandchildren. Senator Taylor owned
Truman Taylor Insurance Agency in Friendswood; an independent agency started by
his father more than 50 years ago. In 2017, the agency merged with
Galveston Insurance Associates.

Senator Taylor represents Senate District 11, comprised of
portions of Brazoria, Galveston, and Harris Counties. Before his election to
the Texas Senate in 2012, he served five terms in the Texas House of
Representatives. Currently, Senator Taylor serves as Chairman of the Senate
Committee on Education and as a member of the following committees: Higher
Education; Water and Rural Affairs, and the budget writing Finance committee.

am truly appreciative of the Chamber’s recognition and I am honored to be
included among so many amazing previous honorees,” said Taylor.

Other Honorees to be Recognized

The Christie Mitchell Beachcomber Award, which was created by George P. Mitchell in honor of
his brother Christie, recognizes individuals, businesses and non-profit
organizations that promote the Island as much as Christie Mitchell did.  This award will go to the Galveston County
Recovery Fund.

The Global Impact Award recipients include Dr. James Le Duc and Associates of
the Galveston National Laboratory at UTMB.

Galveston County Champions recognized for their extraordinary efforts to support
businesses across the county include County Judge Mark Henry and the Galveston
County COVID-19 Business TaskForce.

Community Champions, who went above and beyond andprovided outstanding
service to the community, include James Clark, president of the Galveston
Chapter – Texas Restaurant Association, Anthony P. Brown, McLeod, Alexander,
Powel, & Apffel, PC, the Small Business Administration (SBA), and local
banks including Frost Bank, HomeTown Bank, Moody Bank and Texas First Bank.

The Vic Pierson C-Crewe Award, named for Vic Pierson, the inaugural recipient who
is also president and CEO of Moody Bank, recognizes an individual’s commitment
to fostering the growth of young professionals. Earning this honor is Rodger Rees,
port director of the Port Galveston.

The Volunteers of the Year recipients are Christina Dunn of Odyssey Academy and
Sara Hawkes of Network Funding. The Carol and Fred Wurst Navigator of the Year Award honoreeisKeisha Heck of Mitchell Historic Properties. The Unsung Hero Award recipient
goes to Juan Cisneros of Gulfside Cleaning Services.

Howie Bentley, 2020 chair of the Galveston Regional
Chamber of Commerce board of directors,
will also pass the historic wheelto Terrilyn Tarlton-Shannon,
chair for 2021 and owner of Insurance Junction, Inc.  

For more information, visit, or call (409) 763-5326.